Motorcycles

I have a bit of an obsession with old motorcycles.  The obsession is basically founded in three movies.  The first is The Great Escape.  The scene at the end of the movie when Steve McQueen’s character is trying to escape German territory to freedom is an all-time movie classic.

The second is Indiana Jones and The Last Crusade, one of my favorite movies ever.  I have loved it since I was a kid. I was Indiana Jones for Halloween no fewer than three times.

The third is The Motorcycle Diaries, the story of Ernesto “Che” Guevara before he became a revolutionary.

I am also infatuated with the idea of sidecars on motorcycles.  Before I die I will own a motorcycle with a sidecar and my wife will sit in it wearing one of those leather helmets that has the goggles built into it.  That will go down as one of the greatest days of my life.

In the meantime check out these incredible motorcycles with sidecars from Ural that I first saw through Gentlemint (hat tip to Wayfaring_Stranger)

Also, check out this amazing video of the same motorcycles (hat tip to Selectism)

If you have an older model motorcycle or one with a sidecar let us know in the comments section below.  We would love to see pictures and hear stories.  Maybe I will even share about the time I was hit by a UN peacekeeper in a SUV while riding a motorcycle in Haiti, actually that’s pretty much the whole story.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Leave A Trail, Various Things

Follow TTAF

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Motorcycles”

  1. June 4, 2012 at 12:31 am #

    Huge fan of the above movies. Those Ural’s with the Side Car are straight up radical.

    • June 4, 2012 at 6:27 pm #

      I completely agree. I am not a huge car or bike guy but these Ural bikes are awesome, there are some pretty sweet ones on your site as well. Thanks for reading the site.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What Is Wrong With Everyone Else? Why Third Is Better Than First | thethingaboutflying - August 28, 2012

    […] Chases- Motorcycles, boats, camels, planes, horses, trucks, and tanks.  All of these things are driven/ridden in the […]

  2. #42 Motorcycles | thethingaboutflying - November 30, 2012

    […] the original post, click here. I have a bit of an obsession with old motorcycles.  The obsession is basically founded in three […]

We want to hear from you, leave your thoughts below.

