Comment on This: Leo Tolstoy

I recently started reading Leo Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina (if I really like it, maybe my list can finally get that mystical eleventh book), and, as I am wont to do, I started doing a little background research on Count Tolstoy (and found out he was a Count, for one thing). As it turns out, Tolstoy is a serious fount of wisdom, and I got stuck for about a half an hour just scrolling through Tolstoy quotes on Goodreads. As a teacher, and, more to the point, as a guy who for long stretches of his life has thought that he had a pretty good grip on things, this one really laid me out. What say you?

“The most difficult subjects can be explained to the most slow-witted man if he has not formed any idea of them already; but the simplest things cannot be made clear to the most intelligent man if he is firmly persuaded that he knows already, without a shadow of doubt, what is laid before him.” – Leo Tolstoy

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Comment On This

Follow TTAF

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Comment on This: Leo Tolstoy”

  1. curtisrrogers
    July 10, 2012 at 5:14 pm #

    I know this applies to me. I often find myself being a difficult student, especially in my job, because I think I have everything figured out. I would also say that this quote especially applies to us as men, we tend to be unteachable at points. I think the quote may also have something to say in the realms of racism and or working in a multicultural environment. I enjoyed War and Peace, I also have The Kingdom of God is Within You but I have not read it yet.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. When Frustration Keeps Coming | Writing Your Destiny - August 28, 2012

    […] Comment on This: Leo Tolstoy (thethingaboutflying.com) […]

We want to hear from you, leave your thoughts below.

