Friday at Five: July 13, 2012

 

What to do: So it’s not unbearably hot anymore, at least where I live. Not only that, it’s raining. Old people everywhere are looking up to the clouds with their arms outstretched like Andy Dufresne, rejoicing as their beloved lawns and gardens soak in a heavenly mist. But for me, rain means that I can’t play golf – and that I’ll have to start mowing my grass again. Here are a few indoor activities you may want to participate in this weekend:

– Dominate your family in Monopoly

– Purchase something off an infomercial

– Transform your couch into a fort with your kids

– Order some Tomato soup and tell Siri to play ‘Shake, Rattle, and Roll’

What to Watch: I’m not going to sugar coat this for you, there’s absolutely nothing to watch. But there’s no need to fall into some sort of depression. A rainy weekend is perfect for endless re-runs of ‘Pawn Stars’, or catching up on all those episodes of ‘The Bachelorette’ that are just sitting there on your DVR. My Friday night will most likely be spent watching ‘Shark Tank’, then running out to get a vanilla Frosty from Wendy’s, followed by multiple episodes of ‘House Hunters International’. Just living the dream.

What to Drink: When it’s raining outside, I like to escape to happy places, like Robin Williams in ‘Hook’. My happy place is a little island off the coast of Costa Rica in the Virgin Islands known as St. Thomas. My wife and I visited this majestic piece of land surrounded by water on all sides a few years ago. While there, we discovered the ultimate island drink, and one that has become my go-to “really need to feel like I’m in St. Thomas right now because it’s raining outside and I’m watching ‘The Bachelorette’ on my DVR” drink. It’s called ‘Cruzan Confusion’ and it’s fantastic. There are dozens of variations in how to prepare the drink, below is my favorite (and also the least expensive):

Half glass of crushed ice

2/3 orange/pineapple juice

1/3 mixture of mango & pineapple Cruzan rum

– Feel free to throw it in the blender, I prefer just a stir

On a side note, the authentic island recipe consisted of 8 different flavors of Cruzan rum mixed together and topped off with a splash of Sprite. So if you’d like to try the real deal, feel free to buy all 8 flavors at Rite-Aid. I promise the person behind the counter won’t think you’re an alcoholic.

Tags:

Categories: Friday At Five, Uncategorized

Follow TTAF

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

We want to hear from you, leave your thoughts below.

