Ten Bob Dylan Songs That Must Be On Your iPod

Author’s Note: I have no idea how to punctuate a Bob Dylan song.

http://thestylishunderground.blogspot.com/2009/11/bob-dylan.html

A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall– “I heard one person starve, I heard many people laughin’ heard the song of a poet who died in the gutter, heard the sound of a clown who cried in the alley, and it’s a hard, it’s a hard, it’s a hard, it’s a hard, and it’s a hard rain’s a-gonna fall.”


When I Paint My Masterpiece– “oh the hours I spent inside the coliseum dodging lions and wasting time”

Tangled Up In Blue “I lived with them on Montague Street, in a basement down the stairs, there was music in the cafés at night, and revolution in the air, then he started into dealing with slaves, and something inside of him died, she had to sell everything she owned, and froze up inside”


You Ain’t Going Nowhere– “Genghis Khan an’ his brother Don. Could not keep on keepin’ on.  We’ll climb that bridge after it’s gone.  After we’re way past it.”

Quinn The Eskimo– “Ev’rybody’s ’neath the trees feeding pigeons on a limb, but when Quinn the Eskimo gets here
 All the pigeons gonna run to him”

Oxford Town “He went down to Oxford Town guns and clubs followed him down all because his face was brown better get away from Oxford Town”

Subterranean Homesick Blues– “Ah get born, keep warm, short pants, romance, learn to dance, get dressed, get blessed, try to be a success, please her, please him, buy gifts, don’t steal, don’t lift, twenty years of schoolin’ and they put you on the day shift”


Shelter From The Storm– “’Twas in another lifetime, one of toil and blood, when blackness was a virtue and the road was full of mud,
I came in from the wilderness, a creature void of form,
“come in,” she said, “I’ll give you shelter from the storm”

With God On Our Side “So now as I’m leavin,’
I’m weary as Hell. The confusion I’m feelin’
ain’t no tongue can tell. The words fill my head
 and fall to the floor. If God’s on our side he’ll stop the next war”


Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright– “It ain’t no use in callin’ out my name, gal, like you never did before.  It ain’t no use in callin’ out my name, gal, I can’t hear you anymore. 
I’m a-thinkin’ and a-wond’rin’ all the way down the road, I once loved a woman, a child I’m told. I give her my heart but she wanted my soul, but don’t think twice, it’s all right”

There are certainly other great Dylan songs.  Feel free to share your favorite lines below in the comment section.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Lists, The Tape Deck

Follow TTAF

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

9 Comments on “Ten Bob Dylan Songs That Must Be On Your iPod”

  1. Thomas Benefield
    July 17, 2012 at 7:11 am #

    There’s a song off the official bootleg collection called “If You’ve Gotta Go, Go Now”. One of the best lines, “It ain’t that I’m wanting anything you haven’t gave before. It’s just that I’ll be sleeping soon and it’ll be too dark for you to find the door.”

    Also “Tombstone Blues”

    Then, on another note, if you know someone that really digs Dylan’s lyrics but can’t quite take his voice, then they need to get this – http://rateyourmusic.com/release/album/various_artists_f2/the_times_they_are_a_changin__a_tribute_to_bob_dylan_vol_1/

    • curtisrrogers
      July 17, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

      Thanks for reading. Tombstone Blues is a great one, I will have to check out the bootleg collection, I have been meaning to pick it up for a while now. Also, there have been some good tribute stuff out there but nothing as good as the original, but you are right in that they can bring the music of Bob Dylan to people who may not like his style.

  2. joshacorman
    July 17, 2012 at 8:55 am #

    Love the inclusion of “You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere.” “Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright” is my favorite Dylan song from that era. I’d add “Not Dark Yet” from TIME OUT OF MIND and “It Ain’t Me, Babe.” And about six dozen others. Ten is not a big number.

  3. curtisrrogers
    July 17, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

    It was really hard to leave it at ten, I could have made a list of twenty or thirty easily.

  4. Anonymous
    July 17, 2012 at 5:47 pm #

    Aw man, no “Hurricane” or “One More Cup of Coffee”?! Gotta love Desire..I think it’s one of his best.

    • curtisrrogers
      July 17, 2012 at 8:55 pm #

      Believe it or not Hurricane is probably my least favorite Dylan song.

  5. MrAlafair
    March 28, 2013 at 3:37 pm #

    “The moral of this story, the moral of this song,
    Is that one should never be where one does not belong.
    So if you see your neighbor carrying something, help him with his load…
    And don’t go mistaking Paradise for that home across the road.”

    “Ballad of Frankie Lee and Judas Priest” from John Wesley Hardin, circa 1967

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. There’s A Doin’s A Transpiring!: My Favorite Episodes Of The Simpsons | thethingaboutflying - September 28, 2012

    […] I might respond differently.  Truth is, it is hard to classify greatness, even my own list of best Bob Dylan songs, which is great by the way, is lacking in some […]

  2. Places To See Before I Die | thethingaboutflying - October 29, 2012

    […] Rome- Ancient footprints are everywhere. […]

We want to hear from you, leave your thoughts below.

