Floating

So I have a confession to make…I’m not real good at floating. See, the thing about floating is, it’s tough. It takes a total commitment to the water. And to be honest, I’m not sure I’m ready to make that commitment. To float effectively, we have to surrender to what we know about the water, to trust that it will hold us up. But like I said, I’m not real good at floating. I always have this urge to lift my head up and see what’s going on when I’m trying to float. I just want to make sure that everything’s still okay, that I’m still above the water, that I’m not sinking. But when I try to look around, I begin to sink. And sinking doesn’t feel good. If I continue to sink, I could drown, or maybe get water in my ears and never be able to get it out. So I start to move my arms, thrashing at the water in an attempt to counter-act this feeling of sinking. But the more I thrash, the more I sink, until eventually I’m straight up and down in the pool, frantically treading water just to keep my head above the surface.

My failed attempts at floating do have their advantages though. What I mean is, I’m incredible at the doggy-paddle. I could probably win a contest, or maybe even a tournament, but it turns out they don’t exist – I’ve looked into it. See, when floating doesn’t work out, it’s important to have a back up. And for me, it’s treading water. Sure, it’s a lot more work than floating. It takes a whole lot of time and energy, but it offers me something that floating can’t – control. When I’m treading water, I can control my position in the water. If I work hard enough enough, I’ll always be able to keep my head just above the surface.

But what I’ve found is, treading water is no way to live. It leaves us exhausted and afraid, scared that we won’t be able to stay above water for much longer. Every day we feel a little bit heavier, our muscles a little weaker. What we don’t realize about treading water is, the very water we are fighting with is the same water that has the ability to support us. After all of our striving on our own, all the thrashing around, all the exhaustion and fear, we realize that all we had to do was lie on our backs. We start to see that relief is found in giving up, that freedom is found in surrender.

The thing about God is, He knows all this stuff about us. He knows that we’d rather have control, that we’d like to stay afloat on our own. And He knows how exhausted and afraid we are as a result. But the cool thing is, He still offers an invitation, every day. Each day He offers relief from the exhaustion, freedom from the panic. And all we have to do is lie on our backs, with our tired arms and legs extended, with our eyes pointed at the sky, and feel the support we’ve been so desperately searching for. When we finally stop fighting the water, and frantically looking around for some shred of control, we realize that we’re not sinking. That the arms of the father have been here waiting, hoping that we would give up. Hoping we would one day surrender, that we would lie back and relax in the support of His embrace.

He offers us something better than just treading water, something more than frantically trying to keep our heads above water. And all we have to do is give up. There’s freedom in floating, He’s strong enough to hold us up.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: I Digress

Follow TTAF

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “Floating”

  1. connie
    August 13, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

    Hi Drew,

    My name is Connie Spencer. I attend Heartland Church. I found out avou this site when I was at one of your dads teachings. I luv your writing. U really do have a gift from God. Your writing has a way of touching my heart and making me more in luv with God. I’m always excited to see what u post and I luv to print them out and share them with my Bible study group. Thank u for taking time to share. It really is a blessing. 🙂

  2. August 14, 2012 at 8:45 am #

    Thanks for reading and for the kind words Connie, hope things are well in Rockford!

  3. Debbie Eddins
    August 14, 2012 at 11:41 pm #

    Hi Drew,

    We were apart of building Canyon Ridge Christian Church with your dad. Being a part of that church, and experiencing the ministry of your dad was an amazing part of our lives. It would seem that you have followed very closely in your dad’s ability to deliver a message! I loved your “view” on floating.

    Thanks for the encouragement!
    Debbie Eddins

  4. August 16, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

    Thanks for reading, Debbie. We need to make a trip out to Vegas and visit Canyon Ridge sometime (I still haven’t seen the building). Hope you all are doing well!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Your Favorite Posts In August | thethingaboutflying - September 3, 2012

    […] #19 Floating […]

We want to hear from you, leave your thoughts below.

