#47 Our Nausea: Living With a Wife On Bedrest

 

Administrator’s Note: We here at TTAF are taking a break from blogging for the rest of the year.  We feel that it is important that we take some time off to spend with friends and family, and also to relax a bit as the past year has been hectic for all four of us.  We cannot thank you enough for reading, commenting on and sharing TTAF.  We hope to use this time off to create more posts that we hope you will enjoy.  While we are on hiatus we would still love to hear from you via the comments section and also by writing guest posts.  We are looking for writers from all backgrounds, yes even women, to contribute to the site and if you are interested please send us an email.  We are seeking to create a community experience with this blog and in order to do so we want to hear from you.

In the meantime we will be counting down the top fifty posts (out of 353) from this year.  Once we are done with that we will get back to our regular blogging.  As you read these posts feel free to share them on any number of social media sites with the buttons found below each post and above the comments section.  Have a great holiday season.

 -Matt, Drew, Josh, and Curtis-

For the original post click here.

You may remember the post I wrote in the hospital while my pregnant wife was having a minor procedure done.  We  went into the doctor to find out if we were having a boy or a girl (it’s a girl) and we were surprised with a three day hospital stay.  Since then my wife has been on bed-rest.  For those of you not familiar with the gestation period of a human woman that means that my wife has essentially been sentenced to lying on the couch and or bed for twenty weeks, if in fact the baby stays in her uterine Bastille (h/t Stewie from when Family Guy was actually funny) for full term.

I am the last of the four administrators of TTAF to have a child.  Matt has a son and a daughter.  Drew has a son and a daughter (twins).  Josh has a son who apparently loves the song “Diamonds On the Soles of Her Shoes” which makes him a pretty cool three year old in my opinion.  So not only did I not know what to expect coming into this whole parent thing, I now have the health of my wife to worry about.

Again, this is the first time I have gone through this, so I am by no means an expert, but I decided to come up with a post offering help to those of you with a wife on bed-rest.  Because like Buster says, the nausea (I will add pain, discomfort and boredom) of the one you love quickly shifts from their nausea to our nausea.

Do

Buy her an iPad- I finally broke down one day after work, went to the Apple store, and bought an iPad.  She loves it, and it was also a great reason to buy her an iPad.  One day she will be off of bed-rest and I will have an iPad.  Until then I can play games while in the bathroom instead of reading a magazine.  The iPad really is the best way for someone who isn’t supposed to be lifting and or moving all that much to access the internet, play games, and read.

TV on dvd- 30 Rock, The Office, Parks and Recreation, Arrested Development, and she is watching Friday Night Lights. Jack Donaghy, Andy Bernard, Ron Swanson, and Tobias Funke, all guys that we can learn from. TV on DVD is great and offers a lot of viewing time and also rewatchability, a word I just made up.

Carry out food- I hate restaurants and being social in general so this has actually been pretty nice.  We can get great food and eat it in solitude, many times while watching the above TV shows.

Mario Kart on Wii- One of the more fun video games out there.  My wife and I have become quite competitive while racing.  If you choose a character other than Donkey Kong or Yoshi we cannot be friends.

Bonfires- My wife and I live with my parents.  It’s a long story but the main premise of it is that I am a loser.  My folks have a fire pit in their back yard and the back yard being about as far as my wife is allowed to walk, we have enjoyed several evenings out by the fire.  It changes the scenery up for her a bit and besides who doesn’t love a campfire?

Buy her a lap tray– A tray makes it easier on her to eat meals and  makes it a lot easier on you when you need to bring her a lot of items at once.

Buy her a lounge chair- That way she can at least go outside and be bored.

Pray-  We have done a considerable amount of praying since all of this began, the main focus being that the baby stay put.  It has been my experience that prayer brings results, though not necessarily the desired results.

Do Not…

show off how much you can lift and or how freely you can move about the house.

crack open that bottle of her favorite wine and drink it while she watches.  If you need a drink go out.  The same goes for coffee.

use the phrase, you shoulda been there.

come in from being outside and tell her how nice of a day it is.  Similarly, do not say nice night for a walk.

under any circumstance complain about being bored.

read A Farewell to Arms or let your wife read it.  A fantastic book, just save it for after the baby is born.  Trust me on this one, I made this mistake.

follow through with any plans for a trip that you made together on your own.  She is not going to be thrilled when you show her your pictures from Disneyland.

And lastly, whatever you do, for the love of everything holy, do not ever say, I wish I could lay around all day too.

It has been a rough month for both my wife and myself.  While it has not been fun sitting inside for the summer when we had plans to camp, hike, fish and vacation through these three months, there have been some upsides.  We have had more time to talk and spend together than before, after all she isn’t going anywhere anytime soon.  We have also had a lot of time to prepare for having a kid which I am sure will prove beneficial later on.  Finally, we have had roughly nine thousand ultrasounds which has been pretty cool to see what our daughter looks like as she grows.

So that’s all I’ve got.  Let me know if you have anything to add to the lists.  Until then keep on refilling that cup with water and wait for your turn on the iPad.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Lists, Various Things

Follow TTAF

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

We want to hear from you, leave your thoughts below.

