A Look Back at 2012

2012 came to a close a few weeks ago and since we ended the year with our top fifty posts of the year, we never really had the chance to inundate you with other lists that have become as ubiquitous at the end of the year as The Counting Crows.

So with that in mind I give you a list, though it is a bit late, of what I learned, or learned once again, in the year 2012.

2012 In Books

Hemingway– I read my first Hemingway novel in 2012.  The one I started with was the classic A Farewell To Arms. I had long been infatuated with Hemingway, all things Cuba, and of course rum, but this was the first foray into his work.  For the most part I was not disappointed.  The book was great, my choice of timing in which to read it was not.  Let me warn you again, as I have before, DO NOT READ A FAREWELL TO ARMS WHILE YOUR WIFE IS PREGNANT.  I really cannot stress that enough.  Read it after the baby is born.

David Foster Wallace– I started reading Infinite Jest in 2012, and, after having a baby about one hundred pages in, I expect to finish the book sometime in 2014. While I have never undertaken such a difficult read, it has proved to be worth it so far.  I highly recommend picking it up.

2012 In Sports

Only two happened in sports in 2012. One was this…

And this was the other…

And this is how people celebrated..

And this is a picture of TTAF wives Danielle and Laura with a SWAT team member downtown after Kentucky won. It seemed like an appropriate way to mark the occasion.

photo-3

 

2012 In Movies

One thing you may not know about me, I hate going to see movies.  I love movies, though I am not a fan on par with someone like Josh, but I hate spending lots of money for something I can get cheaper.  With that being said, I usually wait to see movies on DVD or just buy them, pop my own popcorn and enjoy it from my own couch.  I probably saw more movies in the theatre this year than I have in the past five.

Lincoln– The best movie that I saw in the theatre all year long. Can we go ahead and say that Daniel Day Lewis is the best actor of this generation? I think so.

The Hobbit- It was entertaining, and a quality movie, but it ranks below Lincoln, The Dark Knight Rises and Moonrise Kingdom.

Hugo- It came out in 2011 but I saw it in 2012. I think 3d movies are dumb for the most part.  This was the first 3d movie that I saw that was not only a great story and piece of cinematography, but the 3d wasn’t overused and hokey.  If you haven’t seen it you should.

Moonrise Kingdom- This might very well have been my favorite movie of the year, regardless of where I watched it.I love Wes Anderson, my favorite movie of his being The Life Aquatic.  Moonrise Kingdom is no Life Aquatic, but it is still stellar. Let us step aside for a moment and rank Wes Anderson movies.  Feel free to agree or disagree in the comment section. I have to admit I have not seen all of his films. The fact that I just said that the fourth movie on this list might be my favorite movie this year says a lot.

The Life Aquatic

The Royal Tenenbaums

Fantastic Mr. Fox

Moonrise Kingdom

Rushmore

Bottle Rocket

I imagine that there will be some disagreements on the placement of Rushmore on this list. There were quite a few movies that I wanted to see in 2012 that I have yet to watch, but if I wait a bit longer I can probably by them at Target for less than the price of one theatre ticket. Expect those reviews in 2014.

2012 In Adventures

I gathered way too much moss this year.  I blame the baby. Danielle and I camped at Mammoth Cave National Park. It was an easy camp, but we hiked about fifteen miles total and took a cave your by old time lantern with no electricity. Definitely worth the trip.

This is what it looks like when I try to take a picture in Mammoth Cave by lantern light.

This is what it looks like when I try to take a picture in Mammoth Cave by lantern light.

Most of my other adventures this year took place in the Red River Gorge, which is officially my favorite place on earth.  I will be back more this year. I even picked up a hiking backpack specifically for the baby.

If heaven ain't a lot like the Gorge, I don't wanna go. That may be an overstatement, but you get the point.

If heaven ain’t a lot like the Gorge, I don’t wanna go. That may be an overstatement, but you get the point.

2012 in Music

I don’t think I bought a single album that was recorded in 2012, but I did pick up at least four cds this year (not including Raffi), which for me is pretty good. All four are fantastic, below are my rankings.

The Last Waltz- The Band

The Bride of The Noisemakers- Bruce Hornsby

Live 1966 The Royal Albert Hall- Bob Dylan

Rockabye Baby- Lullaby Renditions of Bob Marley (imagine I pick up a bag of green plastic army men and say “its for the kids”).

2012 In Punctuation

I recently found out that, when typing, leaving two spaces after a period is actually not the correct move. This came as a bit of a shock as I was taught to always double space after the end of a sentence. I blame Debbie Baker and Mavis Beacon for this one. I will most definitely struggle with this “new” rule for the majority of 2013 and beyond.

2012 In Life

I became a father in 2012, everything else is a bit fuzzy.  I cannot recommend parenthood enough.  I have always and will always love my wife so don’t misunderstand me when I say that I have never been so excited to go home after work than I am now, knowing that Eva is there.

We also started this blog in 2012, and that seems to be going well so far.  We would like to thank you for reading and commenting on the site.  We have a lot of things planned for the future of this site and have been extremely happy with the reception so far.  Just remember that we want you as the reader to be as involved in this site as possible.  We are hoping to build not just a blog but a community so feel free to comment, share and also send in articles to be posted here on TTAF.

Also, the world didn’t end in 2012 which has its upsides and downsides I guess.  We are still here, no zombie apocalypse or anything else. For the record, I refuse to prepare for the end of the world by hoarding supplies and building bomb shelters. If things get that bad in this world I will gladly move on to the next one without complaint.

Resolutions

I am not huge on resolutions like “I want to be a better father” or “I want to be a better husband.” These things should be mantras, not yearly resolutions.  With that being said the beginning of the year is a good time to be reminded of what we need to do and who we want to be.  Here are my resolutions for the year.

Ride my bike more- I have picked up a few accesories for my bike and I have every intention to ride it but, as with many other things, it is hard to make the time.  I really want to be one of those guys that bikes to work but the time I go to work, the distance and the amount of tools I often carry make this impossible.  I am open to career moves solely so I can start riding more.

Kayak more- It is even harder to find the time to kayak as it is geographically and meteorologically constrained. It is also hands down my favorite past-time, especially when partnered with fishing. 2011 was a much better year for kayaking, hopefully 2012 was an anomaly.

The best way to spend a day outdoors.

The best way to spend a day outdoors.

Read more- Pretty self explanatory. I stay up at night knowing that the number of books out there that I want to read vastly outnumbers the number that I actually will read.

Single space after periods- I will break the habit before Ryan Seacrest introduces me to a lineup of musicians that everyone else in the world already knows on New Year’s Eve 2013.

Go on a trip- Easily attainable goal. I would love to go to one of three places in the coming year, a combination of the three would be even better. #1 Yellowstone (currently convincing my wife that it is not insane to drive there from Kentucky with a 9 month old) #2 Spain (I have a cousin that lives there) #3 Haiti (always good to see our second home).

I guess that about wraps up 2012 and the most scatter brained post I think I have written thus far. Maybe I should add be a better blogger to my 2013 resolution list.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Lists

Follow TTAF

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

We want to hear from you, leave your thoughts below.

