Colin Stokes: How Movies Teach Manhood

I put “Finding Nemo” on this weekend for my kids. They’re only 18 months (TWINS!), so I realize it’s a little above their level of understanding, but they love to say “fish!” and discuss the bright colors with one another in a language I don’t understand. And as it turns out, they’re also (very) afraid of animated sharks – to the point of tears. You can go ahead and send that “father of the year” award now.

I picked “Finding Nemo” 1. because I think it’s terrific and 2. they love to point out fish, but what will I choose for them when they are able to understand the story and characters? And what kind of messages will they take from those stories I choose?

While I think this topic has the potential to be pushed to the edges of OCD, I think it’s at least worth considering. Or, perhaps taking 12 minutes and watching a man discussing it. Interesting stuff, have a listen and tell us your thoughts in the comments.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Various Things

Follow TTAF

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

We want to hear from you, leave your thoughts below.

